First Two Years of the 15th National Assembly of Pakistan: August 2020

A Citizens' Report on Performance


The 15th National Assembly of Pakistan was voted in through Pakistan’s 11th General Election held on July 25 2018.Newly-elected members were administered oath on August 12, 2018. Honourable Mr. Asad Qaiser, MNA (NA-18, Swabi-I, KP) was elected as the 21st Speaker of the National Assembly on August 15, 2018. Mr. Imran Khan, Chairman, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), elected from NA-95, Mianwali-I, Punjab), took oath of office on August 18, 2018, to form the Federal Government.

The 15th National Assembly officially completed its second year of the 5-year term on August 12, 2020. In keeping with the PILDAT tradition of compiling assessment of performance of the National Assembly from the citizens’ perspective since 2002, this report examines, based on key performance indicators, on how the 15th National Assembly has carried out its constitutional role.

In order to provide a comparative assessment on key performance indicators, this report compares both year 1 and year 2 of the 15th National Assembly. It, therefore, covers the period from August 13, 2018 to August 12, 2020.