Tabeer/PILDAT successfully concludes first-ever Young Politicians’ Fellowship Programme

Islamabad, April 12, 2019: “Politics is a tough business. It is not conducive for young people at this point, but I see a political renaissance in the country”, said Senior Journalist Syed Talat Hussainat the Farewell and Certificate Distribution Ceremony of the Young Politicians’ Fellowship Programme held by Tabeer/PILDAT in Islamabad. The Programme selected 23 of the brightest young political party members from all political parties represented in the National Assembly and the four Provincial Assemblies to provide them with a unique opportunity of learning, training and building of leadership skills.

Mr. Ahmed Bilal Mehboob, President PILDAT, while introducing the Programme said he believes that politics, democracy and legislature in the country depend on how political parties accept the youth knocking at their doors. It is the responsibility of both political parties and the state to utilize the full potential of youth.

Senior Journalist Syed Talat Hussain delivered a keynote speech at the occasion. He said that training, communication, critical thinking and understanding the deeper roots of politics is crucial for Young Politicians. He appreciated Tabeer/PILDAT’s efforts and wished for YPFP to become institutionalised. “Young Politicians’ Fellowship Programme could become a Future Politicians’ Flagship Programme”, he said.

Mr. Khurram Jilani, Director Programme Tabeer, said that Young Fellows of the programme are going to be change-makers in their political parties. The experience that they have gained is going to inform policies of the country in the future.

Mr. Mazhar Laghari, Political Party Lead at Tabeer/PILDAT, while introducing the programme said that it was imperative to provide a direction to our youth who has a bright future in Pakistan.

The ceremony was also attended by dignitaries such as Senator Dr. Ashok Kumar NP, Ms. Romina Khurshid Alam, MNA PML-N, Ms. Aliya Kamran, MNA MMA-P, and Mr. Tahir Khalil, Bureau Chief Islamabad Jang.

Mr. Abdullah Dayo of Pakistan People’s Party was announced as Fellow of the Cohort and awarded a Gold Memento while Mr. Fateh Ullah Khan Kundi of Jamiat Ulama e Islam-Fazal and Sheikh Mushtaq Ahmed of Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan, received a Silver and Bronze Memento at the occasion respectively. 23 Fellows belonging to different political parties were awarded fellowship certificates. The graduating cohort of YPFP March-April 2019, included (ordered by votes secured by the respective political party and alphabetically by first name) Mr. Ahmed Umer Sohaib (PTI), Ms. Alishae Khar (PTI), Dr. Javeria Hayat Khan (PTI)Ms. Palwasha Sajjad (PTI), Mr. Shafiq Ahmed Afridi (PTI), Barrister Aqeel Malik (PML-N), Mr. Ibraz Ajmal Butt (PML-N), Mr. Muhammad Tahir Shahzada (PML-N), Mr. Abdullah Dayo (PPP), Mr. Dawar Hameed (PPP), Mr. Faran Mahmood (PPP), Ms. Mahin Akbar(PPP), Engr Qaiser Nawab (PPP), Mr. Akbar Dad Babar (JUI-F), Mr. Fateh Ullah Khan (JUI-F), Mr. Muhammad Bilal (JIP), Malik Arslan Ali Khan (PML), Sheikh Mushtaq Ahmed (MQM-P), Mr. Fida Ur Rehman (ANP), Mir Balach Khan (BNP-M), Ms. Bilqees Abdul Shakoor (BAP), Ms. Granaz Baloch (NP) and Mr. Waleed Bizenjo (NP).

Fellows presenting a memento to the keynote speaker, Syed Talat Hussain
Mr. Tahir Khalil, Bureau Chief Islamabad Jang, presenting certificate to a fellow at the ceremony
Senator Dr. Ashok Kumar presenting Silver medal to Mr. Fateh Ullah Khan Kundi of JUI-F
Ms. Romina Khurshid Alam, MNA, presenting Bronze medal to Sheikh Mushtaq Ahmed of MQM-P
Syed Talat Hussain, Senior Journalist, delivering keynote address at the occasion
Honourable guests at the ceremony
Mr. Khurram Jilani, Director Programme Tabeer, addressing the Young Fellows at the ceremony