Pakistan Delegation Arrives in India for the third Round of India-Pakistan Legislators and Public Officials Dialogue on Sharing of Experiences on Governance and Democracy


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

March 07; A delegation of 19 members of the National and Provincial Assemblies of Pakistan, Government Officials and Media Persons from across Pakistan arrive in India to take part in the third India-Pakistan Legislators and Public Officials Dialogue on Sharing of Experiences on Governance and Democracy. The series of Dialogues are facilitated by PILDAT in collaboration with Lokniti (CSDS), India.

The Dialogue in New Delhi, scheduled for March 8, will focus on the themes of Police and Media while the Dialogue in Chandigarh, on March 10, will focus on Agricultural practices and the Dialogue in Jaipur, on March 12, will discuss Tourism and Agricultural Practices.

The Pakistan Delegation includes (in Alphabetical order by first Name in the following sequence Members of Senate, Members of the National Assembly, Members of the Provincial Assemblies and the Experts) Senator Lt. Gen. (Retd.) Abdul Qayyum, (Punjab; PML-N); Senator Mir Hasil Khan Bizenjo, (Balochistan; National Party – NP); Senator Nauman Wazir, (KP; PTI); Senator Saud Majeed, (Punjab, PML-N); Mr. Asad Qaisar, MPA, Speaker Provincial Assembly of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (PK-35 Swabi-V, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, PTI); Mr. Muhammad Afzal Khan, MNA, (NA-82 Faisalabad-VIII, Punjab, Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz – PML-N); Ms. Munaza Hassan, MNA (NA-306, Women Punjab-XXXIV, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf – PTI); Dr. Ramesh Kumar Vankwani, MNA (NA-334 Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz – PML-N); Mr. Shehryar Afridi, MNA (NA-14, Kohat, KP, PTI), Ms. Mahtab Akbar Rashdi, MPA (RSW-156, Sindh, Pakistan Muslim League – Functional – PML-F); Mian Mehmood-ur- Rashid, MPA, Leader of the Opposition, Punjab Assembly, (PP-151 (Lahore-XV), Punjab, PTI); Dr. Najma Afzal Khan, MPA (RSW-320, Punjab, PML-N); Ms. Arifa Noor, Resident Editor-Islamabad, Dawn Newspaper; Senator (Retd.) Javed Jabbar, Former Federal Information Minister, Member, Senate Forum for Policy Research, Mr. Kabir Ahmad Khan, Managing Director Pakistan Tourism Development Corporation Government of Pakistan; Mr. Muhammad Ali Nekokara, Former SSP, Pakistan Police; Dr. Muhammad Shoaib Suddle, Former IG Police, Sindh & Balochistan, Pakistan; Mr. Mujeeb-ur- Rahman Shami, Editor-in-Chief Daily Pakistan; President, Council of Pakistan Newspaper Editors (CPNE); Mr. Saleem Safi, Television Anchor and Columnist, Geo TV. The PILDAT Team includes Mr. Ahmed Bilal Mehboob, President-PILDAT; Ms. Aasiya Riaz, Joint Director-PILDAT; Mr. Faheem Ahmed Khan, Projects Manager-PILDAT; Mr. Muhammad Saad, Projects Manager-PILDAT; Ms. Shahira Khan, Projects Manager-PILDAT.

While PILDAT has been facilitating structured, theme-oriented India-Pakistan Parliamentarians’ Dialogue on bilateral issues since 2011, it envisaged that beyond the countries’ capitals and foreign policy issues, conversation must also include experience sharing on good governance on basic public issues affecting citizens’ lives in both Pakistan and India.