Share on Facebook
> Citizens Group on Electoral Process (CGEP) to Review the Political and Electoral Scenario
Press Release
January 03, 2008


Islamabad, January 3; The Citizens Group on Electoral Process CGEP, a group of eminent Pakistanis from the fields of law, judiciary, media, security, administration and civil society under the chairmanship of Justice (Retd.) Saeed uz Zaman Siddiqui, Former Chief Justice of Pakistan, will meet at Lahore on Friday, January 4, 2008 to review the Political and Electoral Scenario after the tragic assassination of Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto and the postponement of General Election date.


The Citizens Group, facilitated by PILDAT, will be holding its 16th Meeting since December 2006 when the Group was formed. The objective behind facilitation of the Group has been to indigenously monitor the process leading up to elections in Pakistan. The Group has been analyzing the pre-election process and continues to issue statements and positions on electoral issues for better public awareness and understanding towards ensuring a free, fair, transparent and credible election in Pakistan. The Citizens Group has produced numerous research and position papers on electoral issues including topics such as Electoral Rolls, Model Code of Conduct, Presidential Election, Electoral Reforms and the National Reconciliation Ordinance NRO and its Impact on the General Election, etc. The Group will also be issuing an Assessment Report for Pre-Poll Phase shortly alongside other research papers looking at electoral behaviour and patterns as well as the electoral rigging history in Pakistan since 1970.


The members of CGEP include Justice (Retd.) Saeed uz Zaman Siddiqui, Former Chief Justice of Pakistan, Chairman CGEP, Mr. Arif Nizami, Editor, The Nation, Lt. Gen. (Retd.) Asad Durrani, Former DG, ISI / MI, Mr. Aslam Kazi, CEO, Daily Kawish/KTN, Mr. Ghazi Salahuddin, the Jang Group, Mr. Hameed Haroon, CEO, Dawn Group, Dr. Hasan-Askari Rizvi, Political & Defence Analyst, Dr. Ijaz Shafi Gilani, Chairman, Gallup Pakistan, Mr. Javed Jabbar, Former Senator and Minister, Mr. Kamran Khan, Journalist & TV Show Host, Geo News, Lt. Gen. (Retd.) Moinuddin Haider, Former Governor Sindh, Mr. Mujib-ur-Rehman Shami, Editor in Chief, Daily Pakistan, Mr. Munir A. Malik, Former President, Supreme Court Bar Association, Mr. Najam Sethi, Editor Daily Times, Justice (Retd.) Nasira Iqbal, Former Judge, Lahore High Court, Mr. Omar Afridi, Former Chief Secretary NWFP, Dr. Parvez Hassan, senior Lawyer, Qazi Muhammad Jamil; Former President, Supreme Court Bar Association, Mr. Shafqat Mahmood, Former Senator and Minister, Mr. Shahid Hamid, Former Governor Punjab, Mr. Sikandar Hayat Jamali, Former Chief Secretary, Balochistan, Syed Talat Hussain, Director News & Current Affairs, Aaj TV, Mr. Tasneem Noorani, Former Federal Secretary, Mr. Ahmed Bilal Mehboob, Executive Director and Ms. Aasiya Riaz, Joint Director of PILDAT.